Lou and Carole Prato Sports Reporting Scholarship Winner 2013

December 9, 2013 01:30

Lou and Carole Prato Sports Reporting Scholarship
Lou Prato was RTDNA treasurer from 1981 to 2001 and served as secretary of RTDNF's Board of Trustees until 2006. Prato's friends and colleagues have endowed an RTDNF scholarship in honor of Lou and his wife, Carole. The scholarship provides a $1,000 tuition grant to a deserving student who is planning a career as a sports reporter in television or radio. Lou has worked as a news director, a journalism professor, a consultant, and Director of the Penn State All Sports Museum. Lou and Carole live near his alma mater, Penn State University. He is the author of The Penn State Football Encyclopedia.

2013 Lou and Carole Prato Sports Reporting Scholarship Winner - Kristen Wolfe | Website | Work | Work | Work
Kristen Lynn Wolfe is a senior at Salisbury University, studying media production in the Fulton School of Arts. In her freshman year, she chose to focus on her major rather than play a sport. She applied for a job in the Sports Information Department and since then, started a bi-weekly show called Squawk Talk that she produces, hosts and edits. She also manages approximately 20 students who film and commentate the broadcasts for the live varsity game streams on suseagulls.com. She is the president of the National Broadcasting Society Chapter at Salisbury University and a member of Lambda Pi Eta, the communications honor society.

"It is an absolute honor to receive the Lou & Carole Prato Sports Reporting Scholarship," Wolfe said. "When I was hired for the Sports Information Department at Salisbury University there was only a small amount of digital media. I started the bi-weekly show called Squawk Talk on the athletic website and I am very excited to be recognized for the hard work I have put forth, for the past three years. I would like to thank the Prato family and the Radio Television Digital News Foundation again and look forward to continuing a future in sports reporting."

For a complete list of scholarship and fellowship winners update as they are announced, visit our 2013 winners page.