N.S. Bienstock Fellowship Winner 2013

December 6, 2013 01:30

N.S. Bienstock Fellowship
An award established in 1999 by N.S. Bienstock, Inc. owners, Richard Leibner and Carole Cooper. N.S. Bienstock has been a leading talent agency in news and reality-based programming for more than 35 years and is a long-time member of RTDNA. This award recognizes a promising minority journalist in radio or television news. In addition to the $2,500 award, winners of the N.S. Bienstock Fellowship receive an expenses paid trip to the Excellence in Journalism Conference.

2013 N.S. Bienstock Fellowship Winner - Patricia Guerra | Work Samples
Patricia Guerra is a California native who was raised in Mexico. She holds a BA in International Journalism and Media Studies from Tecnológico de Monterrey and attended the University of California, Berkeley as an undergraduate exchange student. Patricia worked at Univision in San Francisco where she covered the duties of assignment editor, writer, associate producer and on-air reporter. Patricia covered the Primary and General Presidential Election of 2012 with a focus on Latino issues. During that same year, Patricia and her colleagues received an Emmy Award in the category of "Best Large Market Evening Newscast" in the Northern California chapter. Patricia's experience includes working at a  public policy think tank with a focus on low-income and minority communities. Patricia is a 2013-2014 duPont Awards Research Assistant Fellow. Her work at Columbia includes coverage of public housing, the implementation of the Affordable Care Act in immigrant communities and the asthma epidemic in Harlem.

"Receiving this fellowship is both an honor and a great responsibility," said Guerra. "It has long been a dream of mine to build a professional career in journalism, thanks to N.S. Bienstock I am now one step closer. It is very encouraging to know that leading companies in the news industry are committed to increasing diversity in newsrooms across America."

For a complete list of scholarship and fellowship winners update as they are announced, visit our 2013 winners page.