RTDNF to honor Nina Totenberg

March 6, 2017 01:30

RTDNF will hold its 27th annual First Amendment Awards on March 14 at the Grand Hyatt, 1000 H Street NW in Washington, DC. Among the champions of the First Amendment being honored will be:

RTDNF Lifetime Achievement Award: Nina Totenberg
, NPR News
Nina Totenberg is NPR's legal affairs correspondent. NPR received the George Foster Peabody Award for the coverage she anchored of Clarence Thomas' Supreme Court confirmation hearings, and for her exclusive interview with Anita Hill. She has also been honored the George Polk Award, the Sigma Delta Chi Award, the Carr Van Anda Award and the prestigious Joan S. Barone Award for excellence in Washington-based national affairs/public policy reporting. She was named Broadcaster of the Year, honored with the 1998 Sol Taishoff Award for Excellence in Broadcasting from the National Press Foundation and has received the duPont-Columbia University Silver Baton. Before joining NPR in 1975, Totenberg served as Washington editor of New Times Magazine, and was legal affairs correspondent for the National Observer.

Also being honored at the event are Mark Haperin and John Heilemann, Bill Whitaker of CBS News, Steve Jones of ABC News Radio and Stanley S. Hubbard and Stanley E. Hubbard of Hubbard Broadcasting. For more on the honorees, please read the complete announcement. Details about the RTDNF First Amendment Awards can be found on our event page.

For questions about sponsorship opportunities for the 2017 First Amendment Awards Dinner, contact RTDNA's Holly Rose.

Your sponsorship support or ticket purchase will go towards programs covering a variety of issues from ethics to financial journalism, newsroom management to international reporting. RTDNF provides practical, “real-world” ways which help students and professionals alike become more proficient at their craft.

Follow @RTDNA and tweet using the hashtag #RTDNFirst


RTDNF Scholarships & Fellowships