Year of the selfie at Murrows

October 9, 2014 01:30

By Amy Tardif, RTDNA Chair

More than 400 people were present at the Edward R. Murrow Awards banquet Monday night in New York City. RTDNA honored 98 national winners and seven RTDNA/UNITY winners from 59 news organizations.

This year proved to be one of the most competitive Edward R. Murrow Awards seasons in RTDNA history.  For the first time possibly ever, one entry won two national awards.

This year was the first time in 10 years a network (ABC News) won for BOTH network radio overall excellence and network TV overall excellence. Check out the full list of winners here. You’re guaranteed to be inspired.

Finally making my Broadway debut after years of high school, college and community theatre practice, I was honored as the MC to be able to greet the winners and awards presenters. Presenters included Bob Schieffer, Steve Hartman, Amy Robach, Lester Holt, Jeremy Schaap and Brian Ross. Winners range from networks such as ESPN, NPR and CBS, stations large and small as well as online news organizations and newspapers.

It was also the year of the selfie. Inspired by Erik Bilstad of WTMJ who snapped the first selfie of the evening with Amy Robach, I couldn’t help myself when presenting a Murrow to NPR’s Steve Inskeep.

You can watch the show here. And it’s already time to start thinking about the work you’ve done this year. It’s almost time to submit contest entries from December through the end of February. For the first time beginning next year students will be invited to enter the Edward R. Murrow awards in three categories - overall excellence in audio, video and digital journalism. Regional winners will be announced in April of 2015. National winners will be announced in June of 2015, and then, hopefully, we’ll see you next October on Broadway!