The Radio Television Digital News Association partners with the Gannett Foundation to honor the very best in investigative reporting.

The winner of the Gannett Foundation Al Neuharth Award for Investigative Journalism will receive a $5,000 prize to be awarded at the 2017 Excellence in Journalism confrerence in Anaheim, CA on September 8, 2017.

The award recognizes groundbreaking work by a journalist or a staff that creatively used digital tools in the role of being a community's watchdog. Special consideration is given to journalism that helps a community understand and address important issues.

The entry period for the 2016 contest is now closed. The 2017 entry period will open in the spring.

Previous Winners:

In 2015: KXAS-TV and the Dallas Morning News won the award for the investigation "Injured Heroes, Broken Promises.”  Click here to view the winning entry

In 2014: CBS News/60 Minutes won the award for the investigation Lethal MedicineClick here to view the winning entry

In 2013: Anchor and Chief Investigative Reporter, Lee Zurik of WVUE-TV won the award for his series, Playing With Fire
Click here to view the winning entry

In 2012, the winners were Danny Gawlowski and the staff of The Seattle Times including Michael J. Berens, Ken Armstrong, Justin Mayo, James Neff, Katrina Barlow and Genevieve Alvarez for the piece, Methadone and the Politics of PainClick here to view the winning entry

In 2011, the winner was Paula Lavigne for ESPN Outside the Lines: What’s Lurking in Your Stadium Food?  Click here to view the winning entry

Entry Requirements: 
  1. Each entry must have appeared between January 1, 2016 and December 31, 2016.
  2. Entry cannot exceed 15 minutes in length.
  3. Media must be submitted on the entry application in the form of a URL. Entrants are encouraged to upload their media via YouTube, Vimeo or to their station's website and provide the necessary link on the online application form.
  4. Submit a completed online application form. Applications will be accepted beginning in June. Applications received after the deadline date will not be accepted.

Criteria for evaluating innovation include interactivity, creation of new tools, innovative adaptation of existing tools, and creative use of any digital medium. An entry will consist of a single story, series or package on a single subject.



Winner will receive a $5,000 prize. Award will be presented to the individual entrant or news staff listed on the application.

Contest Duration:

Entires will be accepted until the deadline to be announced in the spring.

Registration is $25 for RTDNA members and $50 for non-members.

For any questions about the award, please contact Kate McGarrity: