Meet the 2017 Presidents Scholarship winner

November 28, 2017 11:00

Nora Faris, University of Missouri

Nora Faris is a senior at the University of Missouri studying science and agricultural journalism with emphases in broadcast journalism and public policy. Nora's journalism experiences span from the Farm Belt, where she has reported for NBC affiliate KOMU-8,  to the Capital Beltway, where she has pursued internships in political strategic communication. Upon graduation, Nora will pursue a law degree and a career as a legal and political correspondent.

"Looking toward an uncertain political future, I am more certain than ever about the value of journalism," says Nora. "I'm focused on getting it right, getting it first and just plain getting it -- understanding the needs and concerns of mid-Missourians and cultivating conversations about the issues that impact them."

"I have been teaching and advising for more than 30 years, and as I worked with Nora during her freshman year, I quickly became aware that she is not a typical student," says Sharon Wood-Turley, program chair for MU Science and Agricultural Journalism. "She immediately became recognized among other faculty and administrators for her poised, serious demeanor, ability to communicate with ease about any topic, and her professional approach to academics and extracurricular activities." 

See some of Nora's work: Find Nora on LinkedIn or on Twitter at @Nora_Faris.

Two awards are given each year in honor of former RTDNA Presidents Theodore Koop, Bruce Dennis, James McCulla, John Salisbury, Bruce Palmer, Dick Cheverton, Jim Byron, Ben Chatfield and John Hogan. The recipients of the Presidents Scholarship each receive $1,000 and an invitation to the Excellence in Journalism conference.

Meet all the 2017 RTDNF Scholarship & Fellowship winners.
Could you be a 2018 Presidents Scholar?           Do you want to make awards like this possible?


EIJ19 register now