RTDNF names 2017 Presidents Scholar

November 22, 2017 11:00

Miranda Suarez, Boston University

Miranda Suarez is a journalism and Spanish literature student at Boston University who has loved public radio since she was a kid. Before she left Boston for a semester abroad in Quito, Ecuador, she spent her summer as an intern at WBUR, where she reported and wrote stories for hourly local newscasts on topics ranging from lobster prices to the opioid crisis. Miranda has also served as news director at WTBU, Boston University’s student-run radio station, and interned at the nonprofit New England Center for Investigative Reporting. She will be returning to WBUR’s news desk in the spring.

"I want insightful, informative, and easy-to-consume journalism to be a valuable part of everyone's routine," she says, and she's found radio to be a great way to "integrate news into everyday life."

Bostong University Associate Professor of Journalism Anne Donohue says Miranda is a "total pro," thriving as WTBU radio News Director. "With Miranda at the helm, she set the tone for a calm, respectful, and collegial newsroom atmosphere."

Check out some of Miranda's work:
Find Miranda online at mirandasuarez.weebly.com or on Twitter at @mirandrasuarez.

Two awards are given each year in honor of former RTDNA Presidents Theodore Koop, Bruce Dennis, James McCulla, John Salisbury, Bruce Palmer, Dick Cheverton, Jim Byron, Ben Chatfield and John Hogan. The recipients of the Presidents Scholarship each receive $1,000 and an invitation to the Excellence in Journalism conference.

Meet all the 2017 RTDNF Scholarship & Fellowship winners.
Could you be a 2018 Presidents Scholar?           Do you want to make awards like this possible?


EIJ19 register now