Regional Murrow Award Promotion Guidelines
The RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards are among the most prestigious in broadcast and digital news.
The Radio Television Digital News Association has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. Award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Murrow set as a standard for the profession of broadcast and digital journalism.
Murrow Awards are presented to news organizations, not individuals (except in the Student categories). All awards are presented based on the specific body of work submitted.
Regional Murrow Awards are presented to small and large radio, television and digital outlets based on 14 geographic regions. Regional winners are automatically considered for a National award.
When promoting a Regional Murrow Award win, please utilize the following guidelines.
Use “Regional Murrow Award” or “Regional Edward R. Murrow Award”
Do not use “Murrow Award” without including Regional

Use “under consideration for a National Murrow Award” or “advancing to the National Murrow Award competition.”
Do not use “nominated.”
Use RTDNA or Radio Television Digital News Association.
DO NOT use RTNDA or Radio Television News Directors Association (these are former names).
Use either the square logo or rectangular banner. To request past year images, contact us.  Do not use the medallion or Murrow silhouette image alone.

What happens after a Regional Murrow win? 
  • Awards are presented to organizations, not individuals. Individuals may add Murrow Award language to biographies and social profiles. RTDNA does not verify individual employment or work on Murrow-winning pieces.
  • One plaque per award is presented to the winning station with details as submitted on the award entry form. Personalized duplicates may be ordered for individuals at
  • winner pages should be considered the definitive list of Murrow Award winners.
  • Regional winners automatically advance to national judging. National winners are announced in June and presented at the RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala in October.
 5 Ways to Promote your Regional Murrow Award
  1. Add “Edward R. Murrow Award Winner” to your professional biography and social media profile bios, including LinkedIn, Facebook and Twitter. 
  2. Share a link to the Murrow-winning piece across your social media platforms and add commentary that explains how it demonstrates responsible journalism. Remember to tag @RTDNA and use #Murrow when sharing.
  3. Explain to your audience why winning a Murrow Award matters using the following language:
    • The Murrow Awards are the embodiment of the values, principles and standards set forth by Edward R. Murrow, a journalism pioneer who set the standards for the highest quality of broadcast journalism.
    • Murrow Award winning stories put public interest above all else, provide a catalyst for public discussion, and adhere to the RTDNA Code of Ethics.
    • Of the awards given to journalists, the Murrow Awards are among the most respected journalism awards in the world.
    • Responsible journalism helps to expose corruption and shines a light on problems that would otherwise go unnoticed.
  4. Share some of Edward Murrow’s most famous quotes about the value of journalism:
    • “We must not confuse dissent with disloyalty. When the loyal opposition dies, I think the soul of America dies with it.”
    • “To be persuasive we must be believable; to be believable we must be credible; credible we must be truthful.”
    • “The speed of communications is wondrous to behold. It is also true that speed can multiply the distribution of information that we know to be untrue.”
    • “Difficulty is the excuse history never accepts.”
  5. Record a 30-second or less video about what winning a Murrow Award means to you. Tag @RTDNA (On Instagram: @rtdna.rtdnf) and use #Murrow when sharing.